Latest Updates *The DBT STAR COLLEGE SCHEME is a scheme of Department of Biotechnology, Government of India. Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah has received the prestigious DBT STAR COLLEGE SCHEME grant for five science departments, namely, Chemistry Mathematics Microbiology Physics and  Zoology

Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah

Estd : 1st August 1947. Affilliated to University of Calcutta

NCTE approved NAAC B++ (3rd Cycle) accredited College with CPE status

DBT Star College

(ISO 9001 : 2015 Certified)

Department of Journalism & Mass Communication

Teachers Profile

Dr. Moitreyee Sen (Mitra)


M.A., M. Phil, Ph.D.

View Faculty Facts

Srabani Das



View Faculty Facts

Aparna Misra



View Faculty Facts

Ragini Chaurasia



View Faculty Facts


1.Departmental History : Obtained its first affiliation on 26th May 2007. Started its journey from 17th July 2007. Honors course started from : 2017 Intake capacity for Hons. Curriculum : 25 Present strength in Hons. Curriculum : 17 Present strength in 1st yr General : 75 Present strength in 2nd yr General : 61 Present strength in 3rd yr General : 17


2. Mission & Vision: The Department started developing true and honest communicators of tomorrow and fine-tuning them for connecting with the world community.


3. Notable Alumni:

Sunita Koley : Ananda Bazar Patrika ( passed in the year 2010)

Debapriya Ghosh : TATA Consultancy Servises ( passed in the year 2010)

Moumita Bardhan : Freelance Photo Journalist (Passed in the year 2011)

Sayani Sen : Sahdana (Passed in the year 2013)

Rimpa Samanta: Gramin Bank(passed in the year 2010)

Atrayee Mitra: Bank of India (Passed in the year 2013)

Debasree Karan: Statesman(Passed in the year 2013)

Ashmita Roy: Telegraph(passed in the year 2012)

Priyanka Dhara: Sales administrative assistant at Sylvan Plybord(I) Pvt.Ltd (passed in the year 2014)


4. Departmental Infrastructure: Well equipped lab for practical classes. Sufficient books and journals in seminar library and central library.


5. Future Plan: Providing internship facility Form a audio-visual editing set-up Forming ‘Documentary’ archive in collaboration with other colleges.



POs PSOs and COs



SL No. Title Routine File



Achievements of the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication


  • In the year 2020, 16 Students appeared in the 3rd Year final Examination and all of them secured first class marks and among them 13 students are registered themselves for  higher education ,i.e M A. in Journalism and Mass Communication course(12 in Calcutta University and 1 in Burdwan University). This bright result of our students (who are the first batch of the Dept. in the Hons. course ) may be considered the greatest achievement of our Dept.
  • Department has many successful alumnies who are well placed in their professional field. Some of them are: Sunita Koley (Ananda Bazar Patrika), Debapriya Ghosh : TATA Consultancy Servises, Rimpa Samanta: Gramin Bank (passed in the year 2010) Moumita Bardhan : Freelance Photo Journalist  (Passed in the year 2011), Ashmita Roy: Telegraph (passed in the year 2012) Atrayee Mitra:  Bank of India,  Debasree Karan: Statesman, Sayani Sen : Sahdana (Passed in the year 2013),  Priyanka Dhara: Sales administrative assistant at Sylvan Plybord(I) Pvt.Ltd (passed in the year 2014).
  • Published Wall Magazine in regular basis from the year 2007.
  • Published Yearly Lab Journal ANNWESHAN in regular basis from the year 2017. (Pic.)
  • Students  visited Calcutta Press Club to attain Sumit Sen Memorial Lecture (2017) by Justice C.K Prasad.(Chairman , Press Council Of India)
  • Conducted ‘Talk’ on – Indian Economic Policy; Speaker Prof (Dr.) Ruma Bhattacharyay (Principal Bijoy Krishna Girl’s College, Howrah ( In the year 2018 and 2019).
  • Organized a special lecture on Media & Society; Speaker: Burashiv Das Gupta  (06/10/2018)
  • An Extended lecture organized by the department; Speaker: Dr. Abir Chottopadhyay. Chairman UG Board of Studies. University of Calcutta.
  • Social Issue Based Research Work within 5000 words done by the Students as a part of their academic activity. 
  • Students prepared Documentary Films of 10 to 13 minute duration on various interesting social issues.
  • Students are involved in Radio News Production activities as a part of their curriculum.
  • Students are efficiently taken interviews of many eminent personalities. Some of them are -   Soumutra Chatterjee ( pic)(Eminent Actor) , Sandeep Roy  (Eminant Director), Aninda and Upal (Chandrabindu ) (Music composer and Director), Parambrata Chattopadhyay ( Actor and Film Director), Anirban Bhattacharya (Actor, Theater Personnel), Mirchi Somak, Mirchi Agni, Mirchi Deep (Radio Jocky), Arpita Ghosh ( MP, Theater Personnel)
  • Students took interviews of Formar

Indian Cricket Team Captain and President of BCCI Sourav Ganguly.(pic)

  • College related information is well circulated among the faculty members as well as among the students through what-app group.
  •  Students are provided audio-visual teaching aids in the class (both in off line and on line).
  • Alumni groups are well connected with the department.
  • Students are encouraged to do out door media activities. Some students are attached with Natadha Group and Neheru Children Musium Drama Group.
  • Samata Chakraborty (passed 2020) had done internship in FM Channel Radio Mirchi
  • Students of this department had participated in Radio work shop with RJ Mirchi Deep.


Department Notice

SL No. Date Subject File
1 Notice
2 Notice
3 Notice
4 Notice